Getting Fit – Ghostbusters Style

Again, another great Nerd Fitness article to help focus the mind. This time it draws links (tenuous at times) between the Ghostbusters and any person’s journey to becoming fit!

Crossing the streams, building up skills and doing your best are all mentioned, showing me (at least) how best to focus my efforts to self improvement. As I posted a few days ago, I am taking each bit of my masterplan one step at a time. Starting off, I am getting into a routine which is sustainable for exercise. Then, I will gradually make specific changes to my diet over a period of time to end up making a full set of changes.

So far, I have a decent weights workout in, a good 10k plan which I am following and some solid ideas on how to improve my diet.

However…. disaster has struck (I use the term loosely and with hyperbole). The weekend, my phone, which contains Zombies, Run!, Endomondo, my 10k plan, my playlist and my weights app – managed to die. Completely. It is now winging its way back to Virgin, who hopefully will have it sorted by the end of the week and back with me by Monday.

For most people, they wouldn’t care, but if you haven’t already noticed, I am a geek. My tech is my way of control. Yes, all my workouts are backed up “a la cloud”, my playlist was on my SD card, and on a more personal note, my photos from my son’s birthday were backed up automatically to my Google+ account. [Note to everybody: Set up this automatic upload if you are on Android, alternatives on other OS. Find a good backup app and run it every few weeks on your messages, contacts, calendar etc – it will pay off at some point.]

So ultimate disaster was averted, but I am now using my old school iPod Touch for music (no GPS, and old OS so no apps work… plus the screen is quite well shattered) and hoping that I am doing something worthwhile in my workouts.

In other news, I am feeling energized, and after a good weights workout yesterday, don’t feel any actual pain! Always good!

Leave a Reply

